Skip to content

Vintage Jabba the Hutt Dixie Cups

September 8, 2010

There were a number of different box designs for these Return of the Jedi Dixie Cups, but of course I wanted the one with Jabba and Leia on it. I really like the art on this box. It’s well done and very colorful. The art on the cups is also quite nice. It seems a little strange to display Dixie cups as art objects, but I’m tempted to do just that.

I got this box a while ago, but I put off posting it because as it turned out, it didn’t have a very good selection of cups inside. I had lots of lame A-Wing Fighter cups, for example, and zero Jabba cups. I don’t know if it was just the luck of the draw or if someone took out the more desirable cups somewhere along the line, but it does seem a little odd to have a Jabba box with no Jabba cups inside. (Here’s a list of the cups in the series.)

Anyway, there are actually two different cups with Jabba on them, and after a while I was able to track them down, as well as some of the others. I’m still missing the one with Luke and the Rancor, and the one with the Rebo Band. But I’ve already spent more than I had planned to on this, so I think I can live without those, at least for the moment.

As you might expect, it’s pretty difficult to photograph cups like this. Unless you want to take two or three shots per cup, you’re going to only see part of the art that’s on there. I decided to just give you an idea of what they look like by taking one shot per cup (with the exception of the cup that has Oola and Gargan on it, since I thought that was a great combination. 🙂 I left out the non-Jabba related ones.




4 Comments leave one →
  1. elleseven permalink
    September 9, 2010 9:36 am

    Who knew Dixie Cups could be so awesome looking. The art work is top notch on them.

  2. September 11, 2010 3:28 am

    It just never ceases to amaze me as to what’s out there. I used to consider Jabba a minor character (sorry icruise, but he’s just not my thing 🙂 ), but there is some brillient and really off the wall stuff out there.

  3. icruise permalink
    September 11, 2010 1:03 pm

    I’ll have to admit that I had no idea how much stuff was out there when I started collecting. And I’m still making new discoveries all the time. It’s fun.

  4. Carlo permalink
    October 30, 2014 6:04 am

    Cool set, I have a set too.

Leave a comment